Ambassadors Council

The Ambassadors Council advances the worldwide visibility of chronic hunger, malnutrition and poverty. Council members provide strategic advice and valuable international networking. They also champion Freedom from Hunger’s collaborative approach to strengthening the capacity of very poor women to achieve self-reliance.


Jane Pauley, Co-Chair

Jane PauleyTelevision journalist and co-anchor, Today Show, National Broadcasting Company. Recipient, Humanitas Award, multiple Emmy Awards and Edward R. Murrow Award. Honorary Chairperson, Advisory Board of the Children's Health Fund. New York, New York.

Muhammad Yunus, Ph.D., Co-Chair

Muhammad Yunus, Ph.D., Co-ChairManaging Director and Founder, Grameen Bank. Professor of Economics, Chittagong University, Bangladesh. Member, Board of Directors, United Nations Foundation. Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, 2006. Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Ann Marie Almeida

Ann Marie AlmeidaChief Executive Officer, Association of Women's Business Centers. Adjunct Professor of Finance, University of New Hampshire; Member, Board of Directors, Camden Conference on Foreign Affairs. Former Director of Research, Center for Venture Research. Camden, Maine.

Edwin T. Baldridge

Chief Executive Officer, WLV-TV, Inc. and Baldridge-Dumas Communications. Former Managing Partner, Softdisk Internet Access. Co-founder, EPOTEC. Trustee, D. L. Dykes, Jr. Foundation. Former Trustee, Freedom from Hunger. Ranchos de Taos, New Mexico.

Kathryn E. Brick

Kathryn E. BrickChief Financial Officer, U.S. Central Credit Union. Former Chief Financial Officer, Fidelity Acceptance Corporation of BankBoston. Lenexa, Kansas.

Susanne M. Campbell

Susanne M. CampbellExecutive Director, Institute for Management, Innovation and Organization, University of California, Joint Program: Berkeley and St. Petersburg, Russia, State University. Berkeley, California.

Tom Campbell, Ph.D., J.D.

Tom Campbell, Ph.D., J.D.Dean, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley. Chairman, World Affairs Council of California. Former U.S. Congressman. Berkeley, California.

Armeane M. Choksi, Ph.D

Armeane M. Choksi, Ph.DChief Executive Officer, Rubicon Capital Investments. Former Vice President, The World Bank (with portfolio responsibility for the Caribbean and Latin America). Washington, DC.

Sam Daley-Harris

Sam Daley-HarrisPresident and Founder of RESULTS and Director of the Global Microcredit Summit. Editor, Pathways Out of Poverty: Innovations in Microfinance. Washington, DC.

William H. Foege, M.D.

William H. Foege, M.D.Presidential Distinguished Professor of International Health, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University. Executive Director & Founder, Global Task Force for Child Survival and Development. Former Director, U.S. Centers for Disease Control. Former Executive Director, The Carter Center. Atlanta, Georgia.

Tor G. Gull

Tor G. GullManaging Director, Oikocredit. Former Senior Vice President, Head of Export & Project Finance, Sampo Bank. Amersfoort, Netherlands.




Geeta Rao Gupta, Ph.D.

Geeta Rao Gupta, Ph.D.President, International Center for Research on Women. Washington, DC.

George C. Halvorson

George C. HalvorsonChief Executive Officer, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals. Former Chief Executive Officer, HealthPartners. Former Chairs, American Association of Health Plans and Alliance of Community Health Plans. Oakland, California.

Jonathan C. Lewis

Chief Executive Officer, MicroCredit Enterprises, LLC. Former President, Academy for International Health Studies, and Founder, International Health Summit. Davis, California.

Iain MacDonald

Iain MacDonaldDirector General, International Cooperative Alliance. Geneva, Switzerland.

Moisés Naím, Ph.D.

Moisés Naím, Ph.D.Editor and Publisher, Foreign Policy magazine. Columnist, Financial Times. Former Minister of Trade and Industry, Venezuela. Founder and Chairman, Group of Fifty. Washington, DC.

Thelma Narayan, M.D.

Coordinator, Community Health Cell, Society for Community Health Awareness, Research and Action. Member, National Population Commission, Government of India. Member, International Poverty and Health Network. Bangalore, India.

Irene Natividad, Ph.D.

Irene Natividad, Ph.D.President, Global Summit of Women. President, Globewomen, Inc. Co-chair, Corporate Women Directors International. Executive Director, Philippine American Foundation. Washington, D.C.

Andre-Jacques Neusy, M.D.

Andre-Jacques Neusy, M.D.Founder/Director, Center for Global Health. Co-founder, Institute for Urban and Global Health, New York University School of Medicine. Former President, International Health Education Consortium. Member, Executive Board, Global Health Education Consortium. Member, Board of Directors, Universitas Ltd, Hoover Foundation, Free University of Brussels, Belgium. Advisor to the Ministry of Health of Rwanda. New York, New York.

Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker

Elizabeth Rindskopf ParkerDean, McGeorge School of Law, University of the Pacific. Former General Counsel, National Security Agency and Central Intelligence Agency. Former Assistant Director, Federal Trade Commission; Former Director, New Haven Legal Assistance Association; Former Cooperating Attorney, NAACP Legal Defense Fund.

Pedro A. Sanchez, Ph.D.

Pedro A. Sanchez, Ph.D.Director, The Hunger Project, The Earth Institute, Columbia University and Chair, United Nations Millennium Project Task Force on World Hunger. 2002 World Food Prize Laureate. Former Director General, International Center for Research in Agroforestry. Palisades, New York.

S. Prakash Sethi, Ph.D.

S. Prakash Sethi, Ph.D.Founder & President, International Center for Corporate Accountability. University Distinguished Professor Management, Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College, City University of New York. Former Advisor on U.N. Global Compact, Executive Office of the Secretary General, United Nations. Former Chairperson, Independent Monitoring Council on Global Manufacturing Principles, Mattel Corporation.

Harvey C. Sigelbaum, J.D.

Harvey C. Sigelbaum, J.D.President, MultiPlan. Former Chief Executive Officer, Amalgamated Life Insurance Company. President, United Housing Foundation. Former Board Member, U.S. Overseas Private Investment Corporation. New York, New York.

Barry M. Smith

Barry M. SmithFounder and former Chairman, CEO VistaCare, Inc. Former CEO, ValueRx, Inc. Chairman, RG Capital, Inc., Chairman, Bon Travay Development, Inc.; Chairman, Eatza Pizza; Chairman, iNation; Chairman, Healing Hands for Haiti; Board Member, Inpatient Consultants; Board Member, Arizona Institute for Mental Health Research. Paradise Valley, Arizona.

Hernando de Soto, Ph.D.

Hernando de Soto, Ph.D.President, Institute for Liberty & Democracy. Member, World Commission on the Global Dimension of Globalization, International Labor Organization. Member, United Nations Development Taskforce to Examine Private Resources for Development. Former Governor Central Reserve Bank of Peru. Lima, Peru.

Charles E. Snyder

Charles E. SnyderChief Executive Officer, National Cooperative Bank. Chair, Board of Directors, National Cooperative Business Association. Washington, DC.


Jane Wales

Jane WalesChief Executive Officer, World Affairs Council of Northern California. Co-Founder, Global Philanthropy Forum. Host, National Public Radio’s Its Your World. Former Senior Director, National Security Council. Former U.S. Executive Director, Physicians for Social Responsibility (1985 Nobel Peace Prize winner). San Francisco, California.